Basil Butter

For those who know me my family grows ALOT of basil!! It is my obsession every summer, well that, BBQ’s and getting my tan on. We always grow more basil than we can cook with, last year I made several batches of PESTO to freeze. This year it will be BASIL BUTTER and PESTO.

Image

Honestly, the hardest part of making this BASIL BUTTER recipe is letting any of it go to waste. I highly recommend grabbing a piece of bread or 2 and salvaging whatever you can’t get out of the food processor.  I know this because this is exactly what I did!!

I got the recipe while surfing Pinterest, which brought me back to this recipe on AllRecipes.com:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/basil-butter-2/detail.aspx 

What you’ll Need:
1 1/2 cups loosely packed fresh basil leaves (I took mine right off our plants on the deck)
1/2 pound butter, softened (2 sticks)
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon seasoned pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt (which I just realized I forgot to put in the mixture, OH WELL!)

My directions differ slightly from the recipe, because as I look at the recipe to type it out for you, I realize I didn’t quite read the recipe AT ALL!! I have a bad habit of reading the recipe once and then just winging it!!

(1) Cut the softened butter up into small pieces and place in the food processor

(2) Add basil (whole, or break up the leaves), salt, pepper, and lemon juice 

Image
 

(3) Food process until you have a smooth butter mixture. 

Image

AH NOM NOM!!! You’re Done!!

I placed the butter into a tub-like tupperware and placed it back in the fridge. I will be using it on corn on the cob later and get this…..STEAK tomorrow, AH NOM NOM!!!! Lol I am not at all embarrassed about how excited I am about that.

The recipe recommends you take spoonfuls, and make “butter-balls”. It makes a nice presentation, however, I think you’ll end up wasting more of it trying to transfer it to the cookie sheet and back and I don’t like wasting a good thing!!!!! lol 

 

 

Leave a Reply

