Parmesan-Almond Breaded Pork Chops

Obviously, by now we all know I love trying new recipes and, I try to be healthy (minus my Pinot Grigio intake haha). So, I was definitely excited when my mother’s cardiologist recommended that she start reading Wheat Belly its a book that helps you get started on a wheat-free diet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going wheat-free, but I’ll be a good daughter and TRY to be as wheat-free as possible around my mother and help her out with trying new recipes.

The first recipe I tried out of the book is the Parmesan-Almond Breaded Pork Chops.

What you’ll need:

– Lean, Boneless Pork Chops
– Almonds (whole, slivered, plain, un-salted) (or if you’re in the rush you can buy almond “bread crumbs” from the store)
– 1/4 Cup (I used a 1/2 cup) Grated Parmesan Cheese
– 1 Teaspoon Onion Powder
– 1 Teaspoon Garlic Powder
– Egg Whites
– Skim Milk (I use Skim Plus)

Image

(1) Preparing the Almond “Bread Crumbs” — I used a small blender, the one you see on QVC all the time, that makes 1 cup quantities. I bought a 10z bag of slivered almonds and put about 2 handfuls in the blender. The almonds become a “powder” in seconds.

Image

(2) Add the powdered almonds to a 1/4-1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese, add the 1 teaspoon onion powder and 1 teaspoon garlic powder. Stir and set aside.
(3) Mix the eggs whites, with a dash or 2 of milk, take the pork chops, dip them in the egg mixture and then through the “breading” mixture.

Image

(4) Put olive oil in a skillet, and place the pork chops in the skillet. I covered the tops of the pork chops with additional olive oil to make sure the “breading” sticks

Image

(5) Cook the pork chops on medium heat until they are cooked through, I usually turn up the heat towards the end to provide a crispier looking “breading”

Image

AH NOM NOM!! You’re done!

I have to check if I blogged about my veggie side dish, but we paired the pork chops with chopped red potatoes, carrots and zucchini. The veggies were in a glass pyrex, coated in olive oil & italian seasoning and then placed in the oven at 375 for about 30 minutes. Tonight’s dinner maybe PECAN CRUSTED CHICKEN. Assuming its a site worth seeing and a recipe worth tasting then I will post it tomorrow for you!

Leave a Reply

