Pesto & Tomato Grilled Cheese

I know, I know…..I’ve been a slacker when it comes to blogging, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking!! A little over a week ago I made PESTO & TOMATO GRILLED CHEESE for the family and I for lunch. These were DELISH! I may even try to make these again this weekend.

What you’ll need:

Sliced Italian Bread (white or whole wheat)
Homemade or Store-Bought Pesto
Large Tomato
Shredded Mozzarella (low-fat or regular)

1) Cut 1 slice of Italian bread in 1/2 and coat “butter” with the pesto sauce on each slice

2) Slice the tomato into .25″ or thicker slices and place on one of the halves of bread

3) Cover the top of the tomato with the shredded mozzerrella and then cover with the other half of bread. Coat a frying pan, or in this case a panini skillet with olive oil spray. Cook the sandwich over medium each and flip every few minutes until cheese melts.

4) When cheese melts and the bread is toasted remove from the frying pan/skillet, let the sandwich cool for a few minutes as the olive oil in the pesto will be HOT!

AH NOM NOM!! You’re Done!!

Hopefully I will get around to more cooking this weekend, with the warm weather they’re predicting I’ve got my sights set on the GRILL! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE BBQ season! Hope everyone has a great weekend! Please don’t hesitate to comment or share links of new recipes with me!

Leave a Reply

