Zucchini Bread

It’s very easy for me to get carried away and buy too much food (or too many shoes, or too many purses OR too many clothes, but you get the point haha) This week I bought way too much produce, the energy and time I thought I had to put into cooking all of it came and went without me knowing it.

The zucchini boats I made were great, and I will make them again, however, I zucchini boat-ed myself out and got myself stuck with 2 zucchini’s and nothing to do with them. I know a real seriously problem, right???

As if I’m not on Pinterest enough, I signed on (again) and looked up zucchini recipes and came across this one from the Smitten Kitchen food blog (http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/07/summer-of-the-bats/)

There are sooooooooooooo many great food blogs out there!!! Please when I post a link, look at it! When I share a link, I’m sharing how awesome it is, and my experience with trying them. I may think I’m good at cooking, but in no way am I talented enough (yet haha) to be coming up with my own recipes…I’ll let you know when I get there though!! Also, I’m aware I need to work on my “food photography”. If any photographers or fellow food-bloggers are reading this please your advice is always welcome!!!!

Ingredients you’ll need:

3 eggs
1 cup olive oil
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 cups grated zucchini
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups whole wheat flour
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon sea salt

(1) Preheat oven to 350°F.

(2) Grease 2 bread pans, I used olive oil spray  and used 2 disposable aluminim pans. I recommend you do, this because the 2nd loaf can be frozen in the pan and its easy to travel with if you are taking the bread to a party or to a family/friends for the holiday

(3) In a large bowl, beat the eggs, then mix in oil and sugar, then zucchini and vanilla.

(4) Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder and salt, as well as nuts, chocolate chips and/or dried fruit, if using. Stir this into the egg mixture. Divide the batter into prepared pans.

(5) Bake loaves for 60 minutes, plus or minus ten, or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Muffins will bake far more quickly, approximately 20 to 25 minutes.

Ah Nom Nom!!!!! You’re done!!!

If you’re still reading…please read on, because you might be able to relate to this.

There was a day where the brownish liquid in this shot glass may have been something along the lines of jagermeister. But no, I purposely bought this shot glass for COOKING purposes and the substance inside is VANILLA EXTRACT! Haha, ohhhhh you know you’re getting old when…..

Leave a Reply

