Turkey Spanakopita Burgers

I can’t say “Spanakopita”. I say it “Spank-opita” because it sounds funnier,  and it makes me giggle.  When telling friends about this recipe I don’t even bother saying “Spanakopita” and just go with GREEK TURKEY BURGERS, because we’re definitely not mature enough not to drop the second “a” (if you’re one of my friends you just totally agreed w/me didn’t you?!?)

WARNING: I never measure when cooking, I apologize in advance if this doesn’t help you out when trying the recipe yourself

Ingredients you’ll need:

1 lb ground turkey meat (I used Perdue 93/7)
Leaf Spinach from the can (3 spoonfuls)
Plain Crumbled Feta
Dice Red Onion
Chopped Garlic (I think I used 2 cloves)
Olive Oil

(1) Remove turkey meat from package and place in a bowl, add a handful of crumbled feta, a shake of olive oil, the diced red onion, the chopped garlic and 3 spoonfuls of the leaf spinach (spinach not included in the picture below)

(2) Mix the ingredients with your hands until thoroughly combined. Then make 4-5  patties out of the mixture. If the mixture is too soft for your liking you can make the patties and refrigerate them before cooking. I was to hungry to wait so, soft or not into the frying pan they went.

WARNING: I also rarely keep track of time when I cook. Which is one reason why I can easily spend a whole day cooking and not realize it. Sometimes I lose whole weekends to the kitchen. Use my times as a guideline, but then use your common sense from there on out. Do not blame me for under or over cooked burgers!! haha

(3) Cook in the frying pan on low-medium heat, flipping every 2-3 minutes to make sure the burger cooks evenly. Once the burger appears to be cooking on the outside turn the heat up to medium to make sure it cooks well all the way through.

(4) AH NOM NOM – you’re all done!!

Place the burger on your bread of choice. Add additional feta crumbles to the top of the burger if desired. I  toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and opted for NO additional feta.  This batch was partially devoured by my parents and my sister.

I took the remaining 2 raw patties, wrapped them in tinfoil, placed them in a ziploc sandwich bag and placed them in the freezer.  I was so happy with the outcome that I went out this morning to buy more ingredients to combine with the leftover spinach and put them with the others in the freezer.

Please comment, ask questions, or share your variations on this recipe. Look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

